Thank you!

So, my blog hit the one month mark today.
I created it when I was in a very bad space, a sad place. Nothing made me happy and so I thought, maybe I should write about it? I mean, what the heck, maybe it will help.
A month later, here I am. I wanted to thank all of you, those who connected, commented and supported.

If you managed to wade through that apocalyptic sea of verbs (Sorry, watched the Noah trailer today. I linked it, we are in for a treat it seems.), then here’s my big fat “Thank You!”
I had given up my writing years ago. I lacked the motivation, and thoughtfood to come up with anything significant.
For a month and hopefully many more, I have taken my words back.

Thank you for being a part of that.

14 comments

  1. I also started a my blogs when I was in a dark place, just a couple of weeks ago. I may have never found you except that you found me first. Your writing is positively captivating. Never let life’s circumstances, or selfish people take your voice away, and for us writers, our voice is written. I don’t know your story, but what’s precious about what we’re all doing here in blog-world is that we’re getting our words out there, sharing them, reading them, and relating to each other. And somehow that kinda helps the loneliness fade into a feeling of community. Awesome stuff.

    1. I am lucky to have found our writing. Sometimes, it is so easy to get carried away by the tide and let ourselves go. You are right, if there’s one thing that writers have, it’s a voice. I am happy to be part of such a compassionate community and I am sure that we will all slowly discover each others’ stories along the way.
      Thank you, once again. :)

  2. I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to read your reclaimed words. When I was a child my mother struggled for a considerable time with depression. With the support of family, friends and community, my mother came to be who she wanted to be. After the depression, raising three kids, going back to school for associates, bachelors, then masters degrees, my mother is a wonderful, radiant, loving teacher. In truth, these words don’t even cover the transformation we saw and experienced with her. You, too, too can be the wonderful, radiant, loving version of yourself. I don’t know your story, but I do know that you can do it, and taking back your words can be nothing but great as long as you don’t give up on yourself.

    1. You nailed the thing that bothers me the most about depression. The fact that it can often prevent one from being their true, lovely self. Your mother is definitely an inspiration! I am glad she found herself again.
      In fact, I am hopeful that all of us will, in some way or the other through our words.
      Thank you! :)

  3. I’ve only just discovered you because you kindly commented on my blog, but I’m glad you’ve recaptured the words in the word world! This blogging palaver does help, I promise you. Best of luck :)

  4. One of the reasons I started a blog was to get my writer juices flowing as well. Life is so busy, I hardly ever have time to site and work on my dream – writing a book. I can at least sit and write a blog, though. Maybe that is actually more my forte, anyway.

    I’m still holding on to that dream of writing a book, though.

  5. Woo, one month! *throws confetti*
    I also started my blog for therapy almost two years ago now, and it’s been helping me immensely.
    Here’s to many many more months of blogging for you! :)

Leave a Reply

