I miss pencil shavings

pencil
I haven’t used a pencil in a very long time.
Today I had to use one after years. I took a brand new pencil and sharpened it with great pleasure.

I watched the pencil shavings spew out of the sharpener like little woody sentences.

I miss pencil shavings. I remember a small me peering at shavings with great curiosity. Like every other child, I would try and get the longest shaving possible, turning the pencil with great care inside the sharpener. It used to be so important back then.
Pencil shavings reminded me of a simpler childlike me. That is why I miss them.

…and that’s a wrap on the NaBloPoMo, folks.

Cheers and love to the support and brilliance over at NanoPoblano and yeahwrite!

6 comments

  1. This post made me laugh. As the mom of a son who leaves pencil shavings all over the house (he must have sharp pencils) I dream of the day they are in the past and not covering my counters and floor. :)

  2. Oh yes, I haven’t seen pencil shavings in a long time either. Nowadays you get the sharpeners that collect it inside a small container but like you, it also reminds me of those carefree days. We used pencils a lot more back then.
    Let me see if I can find a pencil around the house so I can have some fun making patterns. Thanks for the lovely memory.

Leave a Reply

